The Rebirth

Many of us fall.  Some stay down and can never get back up.  Some choose to give up all together and opt for the exit.  How can one approach a rebirth after a great fall to the depths of despair?  I don’t know.  But I have an idea.  There are large forces that one individual can’t change by himself, but there are many smaller factors that are within the power of the individual to influence.  I have known this all along, but it takes strength, discipline, and the will to go forward.

Essentially, it all comes down to this — what you decide to see, hear, touch, taste, and smell.  The senses are the food for the mind, body, and soul.  True, the senses are vulnerable to forces out of our control for a large portion of our waking hours, but it is what you do when the time is your own that can make you or break you.

One must look to one’s life in the past when the sky was blue and sun sparkled on the ocean expanse.  What made the sky blue and the ocean sparkle?  What enabled you to experience depth in joy in spite of the large forces you couldn’t control?  Find the answers to that riddle and then find the strength, discipline, and will to re-create your wretched self.

16 thoughts on “The Rebirth

  1. Hello Tincup. Thank you for your provocative comments and the interesting way in which you state them. I am not sure, but I think I grasp some of where you are coming from. The word noble. Joy. Ocean sparke. Rebirth. Riddle. You have high standards, and I think, hopes.
    But you are concerned the future may be difficult to experience in the way you want.
    All I can say is do not confuse “not knowing” or “being down” with harsh or negative judgements. Be neutral. Count on the Universe to be benevolent, in it’s own way, iin its own
    time. Smile. Let it be. There are friends to meet, and surprising happenings to come. Join the club.

  2. Thanks for dropping in askcheeta. Indeed, I do have high hopes and belief for humanity and myself:) And my negative comments are more observations…and I believe observations whether they are harsh or appear negative are the means to forward progress.

  3. Very interesting. Now you have me thinking a little differently. Lately I’ve questioned my whole history of trying to ferret out just what is “right” and what is “wrong”…..and I think the effort has exhausted me! Maybe most things are neither right nor wrong…….not sure that is on topic, but I’m looking to get more energy back, and thinking too hard and too much is probably part of the problem.

    • LOL. You should know I am far from an intellectual. I am a little strange…I am left handed…but I have no problems enjoying the simple pleasures life has to offer and I laugh louder than most. But I have always had a keen eye for observation. It is is deciding what to do after observing that I struggle with on a daily basis:)

    • I didn’t discuss your right or wrong thought. That is a tough topic and it must weigh heavy:) I don’t know the answer. I do think that deep down inside there may exist some sort of moral compass for each individual, but it probably varies significantly by each person. There are things I have done that may seem right to the world at large, but seem wrong based on my own moral compass. And the reverse is true as well.

    • LOL…that is what my mom tells me:) Think positive. But my eyes have always seen what they see…and beauty in humanity is rare…beauty outside of humanity is infinite.

      • I know it always sounds like I’m staring at life through the bottom of a wine bottle, but I think the beauty inside of us is the only beauty there is. Takes one to know one kind of a thing, you know? A lion never stops to admire a sunset. It’s only beautiful because you think it is, and the beauty in humanity is rare for the same reason. Your mom sounds like a smart lady. 🙂

      • LOL…yes you are officially like my mom, who is a smart woman by the way, but a bit sheltered and naive. I am not saying you are like that, but I will say you are like her in that she rarely has negative thoughts and life to her is blue sky and flowers.

  4. Interesting you used Botticelli’s Birth of Venus as your visual. A Renaissance master who painted against the Christian Church’s status quo. He reverted to ancient Greek ideas of beauty and humanism despite rejection of his art by the religious establishment of his day. It took “strength, discipline, and the will to go forward” to do this….

    • You hit the nail on the head. It was only when man looked back was he able to pull himself out of the dark age. I hope we as a species realize this. Time does not necessarily equate to human progress…there are mountain peaks, valleys, and deep dark abysses…and they cycle through. We didn’t go from the abyss to the mountain peak in a straight line marked by time.

  5. This reminds me of those Super Villain Cliches “If you want something done right then do it yourself”. In the end it is your actions and decision that dictates the outcome. So if you choose to be negative or choose something that has a negative outcome then it’s not surprising that bad sh*t will happen to you. Like the laws of attraction; think positive and positivity will think of you…

Leave a Reply

