The Versatile Blogger Award

I received and accept the Versatile Blogger award from the Wandering American.  He recently got married and is blogging from China regarding his discoveries.  I enjoy reading his posts as I have not been to the East and he provides honest observations and insights.  I hope they don’t throw him in jail 😉

Acceptance of this award asks the recipient to list seven random and weird facts about himself or herself, but I figure I expose enough via this recent little biographical project and therefore believe I have fulfilled this request.  The other aspect or in my opinion the most important piece is to pass this award on to a few other bloggers in which the recipient enjoys reading.  I already list the sites I enjoy visiting or discussing issues with below the tag cloud, but I will pick a few for various reasons discussed below.  There are several sites I don’t pick because I know they already received the award.  These are in no particular order.  The links to these sites are under the tag cloud.

Slices of My Soul.  I recently connected with this person and I was shocked to learn of her young age relative to the power and clarity of her poetry.  The writing is very honest and clear.  I think the name of her site speaks for itself and I wish her many victories in the battles to come.

To A Dusty Shelf We Aspire.  I originally clicked on her site because of her beautiful picture, but then I realized I was dealing with a very intelligent being.  She obviously has a passion for reading and frequently posts passages from an expansive array of literature to convey her thoughts (that is my take anyway).  On occasion she will write her own poetry or short stories or commentary which is a real treat.  I anticipate she will publish many works in the future if she hasn’t done so already.

Summer’s Portfolio.  Summer is a young artist and math major.  Her posts are extremely versatile to the point where we approach random numbers.  I enjoy her artwork and pictures of the food she cooks as well as her short philosophical pieces that often include math theory that I may or may not comprehend.

Art Rat Café.  A former art teacher and artist.  He displays his art and also combines images and words to create meaning.  He has followed the true path and is climbing into the mountain peaks.  He is headed to Mexico for an extended period to create art.

Where Pleasant Fountains Lie.  A poet that is direct and honest.  She is loaded with intelligence and her poetry stirs the imagination.  Like Penn, I originally went to her site because of the beautiful picture and again found extreme content.  Rare that both beauty and intelligence are aligned.  She recently came up with an idea for bloggers to send each other their poems in handwritten form.  When I received hers it brought a human touch to this on-line medium of communication.

Alternative Poet.  I will let a piece of her “About” section highlight what attracts me to her site.  “This site centres on a modern approach to poetry writing.  Are you tired of reading poetry you have to dissect to decipher its meaning? If like me, you like to read poetry that is unambiguous in its language and style then this is the site for you. It is not about poetic license or being correct in the literary sense, it is about expressing feelings and thoughts on everyday events in life through the instrument of rhyme and imagery.

Brad Allen Saunders.  A very intelligent man and author of a book.  I plan on purchasing a copy.  He doesn’t post that often, but when he does it is loaded with content.

The Apostate Scientist.  His posts are dense and he explores a variety of topics with both a scientific and humanist mind, but I will let his header give a summary.  “The practice of science can open up great new vistas for us to share – Belief in science turns us into isolated worthless mechanical objects”

Beauty and Dreams.  She is a very creative artist and her site is relatively new.  In addition to her art she posts on a wide variety of light or heavy topics.  I am trying to get her to go out for a social drink but have had little success thus far 😉

Resources and Environment.  A young person obtaining her Masters in Environmental Management.  I enjoy her posts on the problems we face in preserving our environment.  Any person focusing on this problem is dear to my heart.

Walter Kitty’s Diary.  I originally thought she was a male based on the header and the first poem I read that was touching on the mystery of the universe and our place in it.  She writes poetry and short personal stories that are very direct and honest.  Poor thing is trying to live a meaningful life in Los Angeles 😉

All folks listed above please confirm acceptance of the Versatile Blogger Award on this page in the comments section.  If I don’t hear from you in a few days then I will go to your site to let you know you won the award.  If you accept then you can follow the purpose of the award which I outlined above.  Congratulations!!!

34 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award

    • Well then it is now your turn to do your duty for Rome. Oh…there is one other requirement not listed…you have to go out for a social drink with the person that gave you the award 😀

  1. Thank you Tincup. I am honored. Rest assured I think highly of you and your blog as well. I’ve received this award before but have never done the post for it. Perhaps I should.

    • Have a little wine perhaps beforehand..LOL…It would be interesting to see the blogs you enjoy reading as well as the 7 random or weird things about yourself. Difficult for us introverts indeed 😉

  2. I graciously accept Sir, having declined it before and seeing this morning that Walter has selected me for it too, I best get busy…and Congratulations on being selected yourself, it’s well deserved 😊

  3. They should have a “Rogue Transient Orca Blogger Award” for peeps like myself who lurk in the peripheries waiting to come from the depths and abysses to rip open and devour the pride of Seal bloggers like vain prey swimming on the surfaces and bathing in the sunny spotlight of their fame.

    Seriously, though, I love you all, and your “versatility”–the way I love a medium rare steak (organic and grass-fed of course) and a bottle of Syrah (14.5% of course). Here’s to the Victors! 😉

    • LOL…you get the award for the most comments with most content. As far as the Orca which you are…you have been nice to us baby seals on this passing…but we know you are lurking below waiting to make that killer blow.

      • Perhaps Dragonstrand is actually a hybrid shark? When DS wins the award I shall be waiting in the wings with a bottle of Stag’s Leap. Of course it might be empty..

    • Lady Walter K,

      If the bottle of Stag’s Leap is empty, I shall therefore assume you have consumed its contents while I was accepting my award and new found fame at Sea World. As such, when I return to the wings, the JAWS theme will be sounded, and your Stag saturated blood shall become the wine, and your flesh, the meat of my brief domestication. For I have no intention of becoming a virtual star in tanks with tanned trainers–but I do suspect the taste of you will be delectable. I’ll take you with me, within myself, when I jump the walls and return to the profound abysses of the Ocean. Enjoy the ride as I enjoy the tide.

  4. Mr. Wilde told me, over a single malt or five, that the only way to get rid of temptation is to yield to it – so, I pick up the gauntlet, and set out on my quest to meet the delightful challenges set before me.
    Muchas gracias mi amigo for your words and nomination and congrats to you – I look forward to one day buying you a pint in the flesh (so to speak) to celebrate your pretty green sticker.

      • Engaged tonight in a cloud of nostalgia and tequila I found your nomination for The Versatile Bloggers Award. I would email you but can’t remember how to find this info. I realize that this dates back to January and I was leaving for Mexico so had to postpone. Is there a time limit on these things or can I still accept. I was so honoured to receive your nomination, my first, and felt bad that I couldn’t follow through….I’m keeping your Vancouver brew warm for you, in the British tradition…get on up here soon…

  5. I don’t really get what this award is all about :D, but it seems like you select some bloggers you like, and since I’m new to wordpress, or not exactly new, but I joined it last october but just kept posting and not navigating through the site.

    But, I really feel flattered that you gave me such an honor, because I never even imagined that I could write someday, I mean, I am not even a writer, I just one day picked up a pen and a paper from my notebook and wrote. I was very depressed and angry, and I just felt like writing what I feel. This is how I do it. I type what I feel. And my friends seem to go like, oh Sall, you’re really good ! I couldn’t believe them, because I am not even a writer, and because I always think they just compliment me..

    But then when strangers liked it too, I guess because they can relate you know..
    Not because it is that good. 😀
    I guess I am just good at letting what I feel out :D, which is not always good lol :p

    Anyway, THANK YOU SO SO MUCH ! You’re really a very beautiful person yourself. :), really.

    Yeah, people tell me so, that I am so young for what I feel, or write.. But I guess, I don’t know :D, I am still acting my age not my shoe size :p, and I also act my heart, not my age. Its maybe because I’ve went through a lot but learnt from it instead of just dwelling and being upset. I try 😀

    Thank you again, and maybe we can talk sometime and tell me tips for writing as you’re a great writer 😀

    THANK YOU.

    • Thank you for your kind words about writing and giving you tips…I am unfortunately merely a portion of a writer as I am merely a portion of a being that I could be at this point. But here is my tip and one which you already possess…write as open and honest as you can knowing that you lack anything approaching perfect knowledge.

  6. I really feel flattered that you gave me such an honor, because I never even imagined that I could write someday, I mean, I am not even a writer, I just one day picked up a pen and a paper from my notebook and wrote. I was very depressed and angry, and I just felt like writing what I feel. This is how I do it. I type what I feel. And my friends seem to go like, oh Sall, you’re really good ! I couldn’t believe them, because I am not even a writer, and because I always think they just compliment me..

    But then when strangers liked it too, I guess because they can relate you know..
    Not because it is that good.
    I guess I am just good at letting what I feel out , which is not always good lol :p

    Anyway, THANK YOU SO SO MUCH ! You’re really a very beautiful person yourself. , really.

    Yeah, people tell me so, that I am so young for what I feel, or write.. But I guess, I don’t know , I am still acting my age not my shoe size :p, and I also act my heart, not my age. Its maybe because I’ve went through a lot but learnt from it instead of just dwelling and being upset. I try

    Thank you again, and maybe we can talk sometime and tell me tips for writing as you’re a great writer

    THANK YOU.

  7. Thank you, Tincup, for the pat on the back. Anyone who writes seriously can always use it. It’s true I don’t post often, but I guess I should do more. I started writing a new book about a month ago and I’ve neglected that part of my life. I tend to be a bit hermetic, which I don’t always think is a good thing, and posting kind of takes me out of it. One good reason to post is to have the opportunity to reach out to people such as yourself, no matter where they might be. It makes the world a little smaller and less cold. It’s clear you have a good heart and are part of the solution in this world and not the problem. I’ll try to satisfy the requirements of my acceptance, if I can, but I’ll need time to think about it. I’m sure I’ll learn a few things about myself as I do.

  8. Hi Tincup – good to hear from you and many thanks for your support and appreciation. I’m very happy to accept your versatility award, not the least because it’s woken me up to how much I skitter around from one subject to another – and enhanced self-awareness never goes amiss! One day I’ll try and put something coherent together, though for the time being blogging is too satisfying a way of getting ideas down and out in the open just as they come along for me to be diverted into any other medium. My New Year’s resolution is to follow more blogs than yours and Old Jules – reckon I’d do well to start with your awardees!

    • Nothing wrong with versatility and I enjoy that aspect about your blog in addition to the content. Indeed reading other blogs takes time and there are so many out there (like books) that you just can’t get to or find…

  9. Pingback: A New Year! « Resources & Environment

Leave a Reply

