Take My Trembling Hand

I understand how you feel

No need for words

I too am hanging on

By a few frayed threads

All those faceless women

Coming through your door

Headboard banging against the wall

Primal sounds pierce the night

A flash of forgetful pleasure

Then silence

Out the door they stumble

You alone in your bed

The daylight will come

Your problems still there

Swimming in debt

The court date is set

Three times cuffed

Is no drunken charm

They will take all away

Yet still you live like a whore

More flashes of joy

Hedonistic pleasures

To be repaid with interest

The walls are closing in

There is no escape

Except that one option

What is that you mumble?

You want to surrender?

Life is no longer worth it?

Leave your debt behind?

Unpaid years of whoredom?

But this is no option

My friend

You have two little girls

This is no noble Roman act

Accept your punishment

Realize your mistakes

Let them knock you to the ground

Wallow in your fall

From once peak economic heights

Reflect on how you got here

Redefine what peak height means

Begin to slowly crawl

Get to your knees

Try to stand

I am your friend

I will not hand you a knife

But I offer my trembling hand

We can stand together

Walk with me

And at least try

To begin anew

29 thoughts on “Take My Trembling Hand

  1. I was going to post this song under “Murder By Numbers”, but I fear it would get lost there; and it certainly has some applications here as well. In many ways, this song could be the Anthem of your Blog–in terms of metaphor, not substance, of course. You’ll see what I mean.

    • Thanks J…I actually don’t think these are poems…I like what someone else called a short little piece I wrote…was it Ermilias blog??? She said she liked the fragmented structure of the poem….I should start calling these “fragments”…or “fragment rythms”…for they really don’t have any type of poetic form…no stanzas, no meters, no epics…no commedies….etc….

  2. wow this is quite some site – multifaceted, right brain, left brain, poetry to politics, sensitive writings and observations – I will need to give a week+ to explore all of your “musings”. You know what I’m into at art rat cafe so you won’t be surprised that I particularly enjoy your combos of words and images. I also write poetry, although most is so personal that I haven’t felt right about exposing it to the cyber-world. I do connect strongly to your words and will read more in time. I replied to your comments about my art, on my site. Great to make this connection.

    • Thank you for dropping by clinock. Actually, what you probably see is a half formed right brain and half formed left brain resulting in an akward fragmented undeveloped mind:) Eventually the topic of this blog will be exhausted and boring and I plan to create a new blog that will be my own photographic images and my fragmented poems. I believe photography is an inferior form of art…if you even can call photography art…compared to sculpture or painting. I look forward to going through your site in more depth.

      • So I recently had a show of my photographs and my art. The photos sold, the art didn’t. When I hung the photos I felt neutral, when I hung my paintings and drawings I felt vulnerable. What to make of that?
        Photography, I believe, is not “an inferior form of art”. Take a look at the great photographers of history and of our time. Sure, everyone is a photographer these days but not everyone who takes photos is an artist. It is all in the eye, the perception, the composition, the light and the sensitivity to the subject. The ‘artist’ photographer paints with light. The non-artist photographer makes snapshots. My site is on hold for awhile. I’m giving all of my energy to painting and in Jan I’m heading to Mexico to paint some more. I will keep in touch.

      • I am no painter…left handed and color ignorant…but it seems to me photography invokes a feeling from outside in…whereas painting can take the form of inside out…or somewhere in between. I can understand why you feel more vulnerable with painting…it probably exposes your soul more than photography. I wish you a creative trip and safe journey.

Leave a Reply

